Trendy

There are some trends that aren’t good or are just dumb. However there are some that benefit people so what’s wrong with being “trendy” if it is for a good cause? The One Campaign, going “green” and Product Red are all examples of the good kind of trendy. I’ll admit they are all trendy but who cares? If people want to buy shirts that promote being green or whatever, then great for them. As long as they are actually doing something about it. I’ll admit it’s hard to completely transition into recycling everything or making sure all the lights are off, or buying enviromentally friendly products (which are more expensive) but I’m working on it. And with (RED) I support it 100%. I’m not naive, I know that a lot, if not the majority, of the people buying the Red Products are doing it because it’s the new thing to do. But really why does it matter? In a perfect world everyone would donate money to charities, to help children dying everyday in Africa to maybe live a longer, healthier life. But our world is far from perfect. And if it takes buying a shirt or a bag or whatever from the GAP to get people to donate money than I say go for it. Do you think the mother seeing her child suffer from AIDS, or the child who is going to be left an orphan because there parents won’t be around, do you think they care where the money for there medication is coming from? Or what the motives of the doner were? I doubt it. They just see there child being given a chance that they may not have otherwise gotten.  I could probably go on and on in this post but I would probably lose your attention so I won’t. But like I said in a perfect world people would we wouldn’t have to worry about this, people would have compassion. They would not need compensation for there donations, but it’s not a perfect world. And also if by me wearing a shirt that says (2 Weeks) and someone asks what that means, that opens up a chance for me to explain the huge need there is for help in Africa to someone who may not even know.  So I say be trendy, if that’s what it takes, then be as trendy as you want.

One Response to “Trendy”

  1. lindsayweed Says:

    i like trends. these are especially good ones. green is the new black!

Leave a comment