Ron Paul

I have never gotten really big into politics. I know that I should, and I try, I really have tried. I just can’t seem to dive deep enough into each candidate and each issue to feel I have fully informed myself enough to make a decision that big. I also find myself second guessing whether my vote really matters. I mean really…one vote? But what if every person felt this way…nobody would vote. If nothing else my vote means that I am taking a stand, it may not determine who for the next four years will be calling the shots in this confused nation of ours, but it does signify having a voice. We take for granted so much, at least we have the ability to put our vote in, to make a difference as to who is elected. So this is why in about an hour I will be casting my vote, hoping that this one vote will help make a change. I know that the candidate I am voting for has a very unlikely chance of ever becoming President, but does that mean I will vote another way? No. I’m not going to let others dictate my vote. So I encourage you to take a stand and go vote today.

2 Responses to “Ron Paul”

  1. you were very well spoken in this post. i appreciate you reminding me that, although my choice candidate may not win, my vote counts and represents my voice. thank you:)

  2. Just out of curiousity:

    If the following options are available to be voted on:

    A
    B
    C
    (in order of the liklihood they’ll win and reverse order that you like them in)

    are you better off voting for the one you like the most? Why or why not? This of course isn’t the same as not voting, which you mention.

    Does the answer depend on how much you agree or disagree with the person? For example:

    A=Atilla
    B=Barney the Dinosaur
    C=Random Care Bear of your choice

    Is it better to vote for Barney so that Atilla doesn’t get elected? Or is it better to vote for your Care Bear candidate?

    Personally, I think no matter how much I loved the Care Bears, I would have to do everything in my power to make sure Atilla didn’t get elected.

    What are your thoughts?

Leave a comment